BCD decodable text system -- evaluate which level your child is at
Find other posts in the same category: |

Main Article

There is no standard way of classifying a text as decodable or not decodable. Within each decoding system, there are levels, e.g. level 1, level 2, and level 3.

It is common to find a decodable text system that uses only a few levels. The one in the pdf file below only uses 3 levels.
However, fewer levels means more rules crammed into each level. This makes it harder for the child who is struggling.

The BCD decoding system more levels than other systems
Level 0: single letters (i, c)
Level 1: basic consonants and short vowels (cat, sit)
Level 2: 2 consonants, each keeps the sound (star, stun)
Level 3: 2 consonant with the same sound (duck)
Level 4: 2 consonant make a new sound (wish, with)
Level 5: 2 vowels together makes a long vowel (main)
Level 6: long vowel with the silent e (cake, kite)
Level 7: long vowel with the silent y (day, stay)
Level 8: 3 consonant combinations (stray, spray)
Level 9: 2 and 3 syllable words.

When you try to teach your child to read, the BCD system recommends that you progress through these levels one by one. This is not the way reading is generally taught. For example, considering the famous Dr. Seuss book, "The cat in the hat." "the" is a basic word, and appears in most books even for beginners, but in the BCD system, it would not be taught until level 4. If your child is struggling to learn to read, the BCD system recommends that you cover these levels one by one.

Level 0:
Your child needs to understand that each letter has a sound that goes with it. There are good toys and videos that teach letter-sound correspondences. Here are the 2 recommended on kidslike.info

Level 1:
Your child learns to pronounce the simplest words. These are called c-v-c words. c-v-c is short for consonant-vowel-consonant.

Level 2:
Your child can pronounce 2 consonants that each keeps its own sound

Level 3:
Your child can pronounce 2 consonants that make the same sound, and only makes the sound once

Level 4:
Your child knows that sometimes 2 consonants together make a new and different sound (ch, sh, th)

Level 5:
Your child knows that "when 2 vowels go walking, the first one does the talking"

Level 6:
Your child learns about how the silent e creates a long vowel. Levels 5 and 6 are usually taught together in school. But if your child is having trouble, I recommend teaching level 5 first, and then introduce level 6 after the child has learned level 5 well.

Level 7:
Your child learns about the long a made by the letter y. Again, levels 5, 6, and 7 are often all introduced together in school. But if your child is having trouble, you should separate these 3 concepts and teach them one by one. Initially, the child was taught that y is a consonant. To learn now that y is sometimes a vowel is confusing.

Level 8:
Your child learns about 3 letter combinations (spr, str)

Level 9:
Your child can sound out 2 syllable words. You do not have to wait for your child to get through all the previous levels to get to 2 syllable words.
Piplup (name of a Pokemon)

This is an encyclopedia article on Kids Like . info. We try to write in a style that is easy enough for children to understand, but still provides useful and important information. You can help us improve these articles by adding a comment with suggestions. If you have a suggestion about an article you would like to see, you can write it yourself or use the Contact Us tab under the logo. You can log in as "guest" with the password "guest"